I’m Not In Love With You Anymore

Dear Jokes,

I’m not in love with you anymore. I’m tired of hearing made up premise about time machines, velociraptors and imaginary products that are a hilarious combination of two other hilarious products. I’m tired of material that is delivered like “material.” Don’t get me wrong, you were funny at first and you’re very clever writing, but I noticed that we’re not in love anymore, so why should we expect audiences to be?

I don’t deliver your punchlines with the same conviction and freshness as when we first started out. Remember when I tested you out at open mics? You didn’t always work perfectly, but I think that was part of the excitement. Every time was like the first time, and it was that nervousness that made me vulnerable and honest. Then you got better, revised, rehearsed and everything changed. I started using you just to get my laughs per minute. I knew where to expect those laughs per minute, until something weird happened. Now neither of us is getting the laughs we’re used to. It’s like we don’t know each other anymore.

I think you should know I’ve been using some new material. It’s about my life. It’s about my feelings. It’s about me. The material is me, baring my soul on stage and I’m feeling a catharsis that you never provided. You were fun, but this is something real. I’m finding that I am way more passionate about this new material. Despite the fact that I’m delivering nearly the same lines each time I tell it, it’s different. Because this material is about me and my fears and weaknesses, I feel empowered every time the audience helps me laugh away these shortcomings. They don’t always seem to be laughing at my words so much as the universal truths and shared experiences behind my words. This isn’t just a validation of my jokes; this is a validation of me. This is what fuels my passion for comedy.

Now jokey-jokes, before you get all offended, I want you to know, I think you’re awesome. I don’t think my new style of writing is necessarily better than you. It’s just you’re not what I need at this point in my life. You and Mitch Hedberg were absolutely made for each other. Stephen Wright and you are a match made in heaven, and I can only hope to one day find such chemistry with my new writing style. There are plenty of other comedians out there who need what you provide, but I’m not one of them anymore.

You’ll always have a special place in my heart because you were the first set I ever wrote. I still hope to see you around open mics occasionally. Perhaps I’ll be able to drop a few of you in every now and then. I’m even open to the idea that one day we’ll share the stage again on a regular basis, but until that time, I think it’s best if you stay in the back of my old composition notebook. Thanks for everything.

Sincerely,

Comedian Jamie Ward.

That is all.

 

 

About Jamie Ward
I am a comedian. At this point in my life I live comedy. I'm not all that funny, but it's all I think about every waking moment.

5 Responses to I’m Not In Love With You Anymore

  1. Ryan Waning says:

    Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant..

  2. Rob Durham says:

    Nice way to explain to the newer comics that there are other things besides celebs and commercials to laugh about. Really good entry here!

  3. Brian Dee says:

    I feel you man … That’s why I keep writing … because someone … some day … is gonna find this shit as funny as i do … I know they’re not all gems . but I keep mining and polishing them anyway.

  4. M Catlett says:

    Ya know, George Carlin was very straight-laced and basically joke based, clean cut guy until he broke out of the mold and found himself. Good article about evolution of a comic (and let’s hope you’ll be very happy in an open relationship lol)

  5. dobiemaxwell says:

    REALLY nice post! Totally relate to your feelings. You’re maturing as a comic, and we all need to do that to really start finding that inner voice. I like to think of those ‘jokey jokes’ as baby teeth for comedians. Baby teeth definitely have a purpose, but then they fall out and they are never needed again. I enjoyed this, all the best in your comedy adventures.

    Dobie

Leave a Reply

